Contact Us   |   Print Page   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In   |   Register
Share |

10th Annual Conference | Awards | 2012

Honoring Individuals Who Are Truly Committed to Entrepreneurship


NACCE Awards sponsored by


NACCE is proud to announce the winners of the 2012 NACCE Awards:

  • Lifetime Achievement: S. Prestley Blake, Co-founder of Friendly Ice Cream Corporation
  • Entrepreneurial President: Kathleen B. Hetherington, President of Howard Community College
  • Impact Award – Faculty: Anthony D. Fontes, Assistant Professor, Business Admin. of Bunker Hill Community College
  • Impact Award - Administration: Lou Anne Bynum, Executive Vice President, Economic & Resource Development of Long Beach City College District
  • Student Essay Contest: Danny Crittenden of Elizabethtown Community & Technical College
  • Alumni Entrepreneur>: David Lindenstruth, CEO of Appetize, Inc.

Please download and read the NACCE Awards Packet PDF File before submitting an award nomination.

This year's theme for the 10th Annual NACCE Conference (NACCE2012) is "Committed to Entrepreneurship.” Our goal is to give new meaning to those words by presenting awards to some of the most creative, innovative, and diligent individuals focused on building entrepreneurship in communities across the country. Please help us select the recipients for this year's conference awards. Each year, we recognize a group of leaders impacting the growth of entrepreneurship. This year at NACCE2012, we are pleased to continue this tradition with Community College Week as our official sponsor.

In our field, many good deeds go unnoticed. Some entrepreneurship educational leaders are not recognized for their hard work and accomplishments. In the communities our members serve, there are inspiring entrepreneurs who are building new ventures and need to be sought out and recognized. And, there are individuals who deserve to be honored for a lifetime of commitment to entrepreneurship.

We need your help in selecting those individuals who deserve recognition for their hard work through our annual awards program. We have four categories celebrating those who are committed to entrepreneurship on our campuses and in our communities.

These awards are:

Alumni Entrepreneur Award
Do you have an alumnus who has gone on to start a successful business? How about a former student who has become an employer rather than an employee? Celebrate both their achievement and your school's record of success by nominating your alumni in this category. Use this award as a way to tap into both your alumni and small business communities.

Entrepreneurial President Award
It all starts at the top. The most successful programs are supported by great leaders. The college president who not only supports entrepreneurship education but that also embraces entrepreneurial thinking is a special breed. Does your president inspire an entrepreneurial culture? If so, let us know how your president supports faculty, administration, and students in an entrepreneurial manner.

Lifetime Achievement Award
Every community has one. These are the lions, the pillars, the legends, the doers. They have molded and shaped our communities over a lifetime with their business ventures, civic activities and support. These are our entrepreneurs. Many have offered time, talent and funds to your college. If you have one of these amazing individuals in your community, nominating them for this award is a great way to thank them.

Impact Awards
This is your chance to give richly deserved recognition to community college professionals at your institution who go above and beyond the call of duty in their commitment to entrepreneurship. This includes faculty members, staff members and entrepreneurship center staff working to bring about change and to make a difference in the lives of student entrepreneurs and community entrepreneurs and small business owners. We’re looking for people who are making an impact and setting an example for others. Multiple awards will be presented in this category, so don’t be shy about making several nominations. Use these awards to let your community know of the great work being done at your college to support entrepreneurship.

Help us award those who have shown their great commitment to entrepreneurship. This year, one or our winners just might be thanking you.

Nominations are Now Closed.

The deadline for nominations is August 3, 2012. Winners will be notified by August 17, 2012 and will be invited to attend NACCE 2012 in Chicago, IL.

Community Search
Latest News
Upcoming Events

June Member Webinar: Fayetteville Tech’s Profit Exceleration Program™ Meets Small Business Owners...

July Member Webinar: ideas, Customers and Prototyping

9/19/2018 » 9/21/2018
GO WEST! Making, Inventing, & Entrepreneurship: New Pathways & New Opportunities

NACCE | National Association for Community College Entrepreneurship
1 Federal St. Bldg. 101, Springfield, MA 01105
P: 413-306-3131 | F: 413-372-4992
Contact us now!